Happy Friday the 13th

IMGP6507By S. J. Brown

Friday the 13th is touted to be the unluckiest day of the year. 2017 has two Friday the 13th’s, does that make it an unlucky year? Does Friday the 13th scare you? Since Halloween is just few weeks away is today the start of a spooky season? Are you superstitious?

1 SJ Brown Vulture

This ominous date has been used in movies and games for decades. The legends that surround this date go back centuries. However if you aren’t the superstitious type you can get a great rate on an airline flight, save thousands on your Wedding, or get a tattoo for a special price, so it’s not all bad.

2 SJ Brown OwlCrows, Snakes, Magpies, Owls and many other animals have been considered bad luck by a number of cultures. But animals are not the only things connected to bad luck. If you break a mirror you may be in for 7 years of bad luck. If you hang a horseshoe upside down the luck will run out. I haven’t had a black cat cross my path lately, but this black duck posed for my camera.

3 SJ Brown Duck

Like I have stated in a previous blog I am on the fence, a middle of the road type of person. If you missed that blog here is the link. ofhttps://writingwranglersandwarriors.wordpress.com/2016/06/26/the-middle-of-the-road/

4 SJ Brown CrowI am not sure if it is luck that allows me to find and photograph the critters I do. It could be research and timing along with a bit of practice.

5 SJ Brown SnakeIn closing I urge you to not open any umbrellas in the house, walk under any ladders, put your shoes on the table, step on a crack or put your hat on the bed.

Thanks for stopping by.

Naturally,

S. J. Brown

Connect with me on Facebook and be one of the first to see what I have been up and view my Sunday Shares.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

My coloring books feature sketches based on my photographs.

My children’s picture books are perfect for 3-5 year olds

Available at http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

Cover 3-26-23

Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

 

 

Sign up for my E mail list to get updates

sjbrown.pictures@gmail.com
Place Add ME on the subject line

This entry was posted in adventure, Animals, author, birds, Blog, books, Close Ups & Close Encounters, critters, Ducks, environment, photographer, photographs, photography, S J Brown, s. j. brown, Superstition, unique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy Friday the 13th

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    I hadn’t thought about cheaper air fares etc with the 13th. Good to know. I am not superstitious about any of those things, so next time will see what bargains I can get on Friday the 13th!

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    The 13th is usually a pretty lucky day for me. I confess, I hadn’t heard the one about the hat on the bed.

    Still, I love your photos! Doris

    Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    Love it. Surprised you didn’t mention Black Cats, which I’m sure Doris thinks of as good luck, I have never seen a black duck. Love your ugly buzzard. I’m not real supersticious, excuse me while I throw this salt over my shoulder. Thanks Sue. Cher’ley

    Like

  4. S. J. Brown says:

    There are so many superstitions about this date I couldn’t include them all. The big challenge with writing about the 13th was what photos to include.

    Like

  5. I’m not superstitious about Friday the 13th, but yesterday, a truck crashed into my garage door, so today, I’m waiting to see if the other shoe drops. So far so good.

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    It is funny and odd to see a Friday the 13th occurring so close to Halloween. I should be writing my annual Halloween story, but I can’t get my hands to stop trembling.

    Like

  7. Don’t worry about me, I’m careful as to not step on a crack to break my mothers back. Thanks. Barb

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    That’s a fabulous owl photo! My second daughter was born on the 13th Feb – the day before Valentine’s Day – and I consider it to be a very lucky day for me. I was 12 days over due date, enormously fat and waddling like a duck. I was very glad that the 13th was THE DAY of her birth.

    Like

  9. M. K. Waller says:

    I love the owl. He’s beautiful, but he looks so unimpressed with the proceedings. The duck, on the other hand, appears pleased, as if he’s presenting his best side to the camera. I can’t imagine how any of these critters could be thought unlucky. Except for the snake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

