Have you ever rode the rails?

0Barb 028

Have you ever rode a long journey on a train? It’s a blast.

250px-051907-020-TheDepot

My love for the train goes way back to my grandpa who had been an engineer for the Milwaukee Road and drove the Hiawatha from Minneapolis to Chicago and points beyond. My dad loved the train. He brought me twice to Chicago over the Thanksgiving long weekend when I was fifteen and sixteen years old.

IMG_4643

Dad with my boys. 1978

Looking out across the plains and watching the world go by will always be in my memory. I remember riding in the dome car and eating in the dining car as well as having a soda in the lounge.  Both trips, we spent two nights in Chicago. Dad knew his way around Chicago. We traveled all over the city via the L-train. It was so much fun to be alone with my dad.

images-7

The old depot in Duluth, MN, also has train rides. One year for our anniversary, we rode the pizza train! It brought us to and from Two Harbors, traveling along the coast of Lake Superior. It came so close to the water, that I swear I saw fish swim.

When my husband and I went to Norway and Sweden, we took the train to northern Norway, transferred to a ferry and then enjoyed the fjords. The trip was marvelous.

Currently, my husband and I are planning a train trip across the Canadian Rockies in 2018 onboard a train. I’m excited.

images-5

My next book is an historical mystery which is set on a Zephyr train during the fall of 1943.  A body is found in the Chicago rail yard. Come and ride along with the passengers and enjoy the dining car and lounge while my two characters, Brita and Ron, search for the killer.  It is titled, BODY ON THE TRACKS. It’s scheduled for publication by the end of the year. Please sign up for my newsletter on my website.

IMG_3381

 

Barb’s Books 

 

 

https://twitter.com/BSchlichting

https://www.goodreads.com/BarbSchlichting

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorBarbaraSchlichting/

amazon.com/author/barbaraschlichting

I’m saying ‘thank you’ to all who post images online.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in activities, adventure, author, author exposure to potential readers, bucket list, historical novels, historical romance, Mystery Fiction, Railroads, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Have you ever rode the rails?

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds like fun. My husband watches trains on his IPAD and has vicariously traveled many places doing so without leaving his armchair. That train across Canada sounds wonderful. I rode a train by myself when a nursing student, going to Minneapolis MN from Fargo ND and loved it and thought I was “big stuff.” Your novel sounds intriguing. I love mysteries.

    Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    When Irma hit we were scheduled to ride a train that was going to be robbed, we need to reschedule. We did ride the Fall Foliage and Eagle Train in WV. We saw a lot of bald eagles, it was fun. A bit longer than I would have liked. I want to ride some more. Cher’ley

    Like

  3. M. K. Waller says:

    My mom took me on a 200-mile train trip when I was seven; she said the railroads were dying, and she wanted me to have the experience before they were gone. We took a sack lunch. I was tense the whole way because a woman across the aisle was smoking a cigarette and I was sure she was going to blow up the train. The conductor didn’t seem worried, but I was. My husband and I took the White Pass Railway when we were in Alaska several years ago. That was marvelous. We’ve been talking about taking AmTrak from Austin to Waco and coming right back–just because. A trip across the Canadian Rockies–what beautiful countryside you’ll see.

    Like

  4. When I was twelve years old, my dad and I traveled by train from Nogales to Hermocio, Mexico. We’d been studying Spanish, and I was anxious to get to our destination so I could practice what I’d learned. The train seemed to move too slowly.

    Like

  5. S. J. Brown says:

    I am not a big train buff , but I have been on a few scenic train rides that I enjoyed. My family lives in NJ and for my young nephew the highlight of a trip to our house was going down to the train station a few miles from our old house. When we moved he wasn’t impressed with the pool at the new house, he was disappointed we didn’t live near the trains anymore.

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    Congratulations on the upcoming release of your book. I have riden trains many time, which isn’t easy for me, as I have terrible motion sickness. Still, it is an experience. Doris

    Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    I love trains too, Barbara. My dad’s side of the family were train people. My great-grandpa and my grandpa both ran depots, one in Indiana and one in Ohio. In his teen years, my dad worked summers fixing track. One of my favorite Christmas gifts as a kid was a HO train set. Dad also got me a telegraph. I tried to learn to use it, but wasn’t very good at it. But for the train set, I got all kinds of accessories — buildings, tiny people, utility poles, trees, additional track, more cars and locomotives. Those are pleasant memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

