A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

Mike Staton

Post written by Mike Staton.

As I sit down to write this WW&W post, I face a dilemma. I have several subjects I can write about, except I can’t make up my mind. What’s a fella to do? Well, that’s obvious… write about all of them, but keep the words to a minimum. Do you think I can? We’ll see.

First off, I just finished writing my short story Christmas series for this year. I’m hopeful the tales will be popular. I wrote thirteen new ones, and am using 13 old ones from previous years. I started writing the short stories in 2014. Now I can get back to the second book of my Civil War series. This one is called Deepening Homefront Shadows, and I have just a few more chapters to write and the first draft will be done (except for editing).

Christmas meal

This painting from the 1950s or the 1960s reminds me of the Christmas meals we had at the grandparents.

In regard to the first Civil War book, Blessed Shadows Dark And Deep, my publisher cleared up the problems with CreateSpace and now the print edition of the novel is available for purchase. Yea! I’ve ordered nearly $200 in books for myself. I have people I know personally who want a signed copy of the novel, including a friend from my Ohio days when we were both reporters at a Central Ohio newspaper. Anne says she will gift wrap her copy of the novel and place it under the Christmas tree.

Originally, I intended to write about the LA Dodgers playing in the World Series, but then they lost the seventh and final game to the Houston Astros. That burst my balloon. But on reflection, I’m glad the Boys In Blue made it to the World Series. They took it to seven games, and made it an exciting series for fans everywhere. The Dodgers hadn’t been in a World Series since 1988, and I started to think I might have to watch their next one from my mansion in Heaven. Hey, I’m kidding.

Books for author signings

This is artwork I created for a Sunday Facebook post. I have friends who want signed copies of my Civil War novel and I wanted to give them an update on my book order.

I have a birthday coming up on November 20. I noticed earlier today that Bo Derrick was also born on November 20, five years after me. Terrible acting prowess, but a great… no, I won’t say it, but I will say God gave her some lovely attributes. That’s enough on Bo… I don’t want to get myself in trouble with all my women friends.

Nothing more to write about in this blog post. Are you glad I’m walking away from my keyboard?

# # #

I’m an author with three published fantasy novels – The Emperor’s Mistress, Thief’s Coin and Assassins’ Lair. The books make up a trilogy titled Larenia’s Shadow. A fourth novel, this one a historical romance set during the Civil War, is scheduled for publication in October. It’s called Blessed Shadows Dark and Deep. I’ve begun writing my second Civil War novel – Deepening Homefront Shadows. All my novels can be purchased via the website of my publisher, Wings ePress, as well as the websites of Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    You made me smile again. Enjoy knowing what’s on your mind. You are definitely a prolific writer in my book. Just finished your Blessed Shadows Dark and Deep. Well written. Hope you have a great birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy Jardine says:

    I don’t know how you manage to fit in time to write all of your short stories, Mike. Over the years I’ve read a good few and will aim to read some more! Blessed Shadows 1 is on my kindle and is near the top of my queue and I’m very much looking forward to it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Staton says:

      Those Christmas stories about do me in. That’s why I did only 13 this time instead of the 26. I started working on chapter 45 of the second civil war novel. It’s the fall of Richmond. Authorities wanted to keep Yankee soldiers from getting at the liquor in saloons and warehouses, so they poured in the gutters. Instead, the good citizens got drunk, rioted and started fires that got out of control and had to be put out by the hated Yankees.

      Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    I’m smiling. You are a great writer. I am almost done with your Civil War book. I enjoyed your fantasy books too. I will try to read as many of your Christmas stories as I can. Thanks for the updates. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Doris says:

    Mike, I applaud your fortitude in walking away from the keyboard!

    I am sorry about your baseball team, but it was a great series. I’m also thrilled you now have print versions of your story. So exciting. Also, hope to get to reading the Christmas stories as soon as possible.

    Have a great Thanksgiving and Christmas. Doris

    Like

    • Mike Staton says:

      Yep, I like exciting baseball and that describes the 2017 World Series. I hope you do get a chance to read some of the Christmas tales. Many of them have a World War II homefront flavor to them. I was looking for World War II era Christmas cards and other artwork and found some I liked.

      Like

  5. Thanks for sharing your status, Mike. You seem to have plenty on your plate and it doesn’t seem to phase you. I am so jealous of your finishing your first Civil War book and are now on your second. I haven’t even started my third Inzared book which are the Civil War Years, but I haven’t given up yet! Of course I’m not really jealous – just very happy for you. I don’t think I could have written 26 Christmas stories let alone 13! I have a lot of reading to catch up on. Good luck with it all. I hope 2018 brings lots of book sales for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Staton says:

      Thank you, Linda. I don’t think I could have written 25 Christmas tales either. Yesterday and today I resumed working on the second Civil War… finished chapter 45. Give it an edit and then I’ll move onto chapter 46. The books ends chapter 48. I’m making progress, eh?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You are such a prolific writer. I have trouble keeping my nose to the grindstone. I just wrote my first Civil War short story for August Press. You might want to check them out. Good luck to you and many sales in the future. Barb

    Like

    • Mike Staton says:

      I will give your short story a read. Keep in mind that so many of you are leading married lives with children and husbands and grandchildren in your lives. I can see why you struggle with finding time for writing. Me… I’m single with a lot less responsibility. I do have a sister back in Ohio and her adult married children. Two of my nieces live in Charlotte and one in Michigan, so I don’t see them very often. I haven’t been back east since 2015.

      Like

  7. M. K. Waller says:

    Actually, Mike, I’m not glad you walked away from your keyboard. I’m amazed you could. Thirteen Christmas stories. And you have more ideas to go in the book. Wow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

