The Road to Bethlehem

THE ROAD TO BETHLEHEM

If as Herod, we fill our lives with things and again things;
If we consider ourselves so important that we must fill
Every moment of our lives with action;
When will we have the time to make the long slow journey
Across the burning desert as did the Magi;
Or sit and watch the stars as did the shepherds;
Or to brood over the coming of the Child as did Mary?
For each one of us there is a desert to travel,
A star to discover,
And a being within ourselves to bring to life.

~ Author Unknown

Casper (name) (Photo credit: Wikipedia) Journey of the Magi (1902) by James Tissot. Public domain.

***

“The Road to Bethlehem” is based on the story of the Three Kings who journeyed to visit the Christ Child, and then returned home by a different route to avoid King Herod, who was bent on the Child’s destruction.

In a larger context, the poem asks us to consider how we prepare to make our own journeys, and tells us what treasure lies in store for us along the way.

~ Posted by Kathy Waller

***

“The Road to Bethlehem” appears on numerous websites. Most attribute the poem to Anonymous. If you know who wrote it, please share the name and, if possible, other documentation in a comment, so I can give the poet credit for his creation and can search for information about copyright. Until I know more, I will assume the poem is in the public domain.

*

http://michaelpodesta.corecommerce.com/Desert-p53.html
http://macrina-underthesycamoretree.blogspot.com/2009/12/desert-star-emerging-life.html
http://blueeyedennis-siempre.blogspot.com/2010/11/advent-prayer-and-poems-i.html
http://www.rivendellcentre.com/elements-of-life
http://60by62.com/#/book-58-if-as-herod/4546636942

 

9 thoughts on “The Road to Bethlehem

    1. Going to bed early isn’t necessarily a bad thing, especially when you’re busy the rest of the time. I need to cultivate the habit but don’t want to enough to apply myself. I hope you have a happy 2018.

      Like

  1. Love the message in the poem! Something I have to be reminded to do. I often think of people years ago, spending months crossing a continent, waiting weeks for a letter, walking behind a horse and plow for hours, doing meaningful but repetitive things, and having a lot of time to think. It was not a choice, but it must have been a good thing much of that time, and helped lengthen attention span maybe.

    Like

    1. I read that women in an African village broke a hydrant that helpful outsiders had installed when they dug a well. The women wanted to walk miles to get water and carry it back because the trips afforded them “alone” time, when they could think their own thoughts unencumbered by the demands of family life. Some activities have value not apparent from the outside, I guess. The Internet keeps me from having to pick up a heavy dictionary or drive to the library, but it’s decreasing my attention span–at one time, I could read all day. Can’t do that any more–too antsy.

      Like

  2. In my younger days, I was indeed a wise man or magi looking for and following my star of destiny. Nowadays, I’m quite happy to sit in the backyard and enjoy the stars. Last night was a night for fireworks to compete with the stars.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.