I Can’t Help Myself

doris curiosity

Post written and copyrighted by Doris McCraw

I confess I can’t help myself. When I find an interesting subject I have to dig in and find out all I can. As those of you who read my post, this is history, women’s history.  Well I found another trail to follow and just had to share. As I continue to research and prepare for speaking engagements I scour city directories, old newspapers, death records and more. Recently I found one of the early women dentists in Colorado. Yes a woman dentist practicing prior to 1900.

Her name is Anna D. Chamberlain. I initially found her in the 1896 Colorado Springs city directory listed with her husband Frank C. Chamberlain, also a dentist.  Their office was #12 in the bank building with a residence at 1451 N. Nevada Ave.

Anna was born in 1866 to John Shaw and Hellen B Shaw in Harlan, Page County, Iowa. Her father was from Ireland and her mother was born in Ohio. She married Frank in 1887 and they had three children by 1900. She died in 1914 at the age of forty-eight.

According to her obituary she and her husband were associated with dentistry since 1888. There are indications they practiced in Colorado Springs, Colorado City and Manitou Springs.   She was one of the first women and in the first graduating class in the field from the University in Denver. Her husband was also an M.D. and received his license in 1892 although there is no mention of his pursuing this field in Colorado Springs. That would make sense since there were numerous physicians in the area. His brother Fred who was a dentist in Cripple Creek in the 1890’s but also ended up in Colorado Springs. On a side note, Fred also married a woman named Anna B.

In addition to a dental practice and raising three children, she was also active in the church and the WTCU (Women’s Christian Temperance Union) and in the late 1890’s was president of  the local organization.  She and her husband along with Wm. H. Dewey and Oscar J. Fullerton created the Fullerton Consumption Cure Company with an initial investment of $30,000.

After her death her husband moved to California and remarried. After his death in 1928 his second wife returned his body to Colorado Springs. He is buried with Anna in Evergreen Cemetery.

That’s it until the next time I find something I just have to share.  Keep telling your stories, keep writing and keep letting people know, that is the greatest gift in my opinion.

For more of what I do:

http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com

“Film & Photography on the Front Range” can be purchased online at: http://www.amazon.com

Related articles

Published by Wranglers

This is a group blog under the name Wranglers

24 thoughts on “I Can’t Help Myself

  1. Another interesting and inspiring post! I wonder how she was received by the people. And how dentistry was done back then. I love history and you make it come alive. Thanks for the good read today, Doris.

    Like

  2. Doris, I love these characters you give us. I keep wondering how I could use her determination and suffering in my novels. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like and it proves that busy people are the ones to get things done. Thanks Cher’ley

    Like

    1. Cherley, they say if you want something done give it to a busy person. Back then they did some amazing things. Thanks Doris

      Like

  3. Your dentist died way too young. I’d be interested in knowing her cause of death. It’s sweet that her husband is buried beside her thanks to the good heart of wife No. 2.

    Like

    1. Mike, I will find out, I do have it, just not here at work. There is more to the story and I’m on the hunt. (Smile). Doris

      Like

  4. Doris, my wife and I were in Colorado Springs for Left Coast Crime Conference last year and we went to a former morgue that was under the street and had turned into a restaurant called the Rabbit Hole with an Alice and Wonderland theme. Do you know if it really was a former morgue? Here is the place: http://www.rabbitholedinner.com/

    Like

    1. Travis, I will double check, but it doesn’t sound right. I’ll let you know. I have a meeting tonight and can check with those folks. They do buildings while I do people. It is a good mix. Doris

      Like

  5. To me this excellent post is all about a tendency to get “sidetracked”. You can spend hours just following your curiosity when if you were more disciplined, more business-like, more you name it… Good, I say.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.