A Positive Spin #writerslife #amreading

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

I’ve had an interesting month thus far. Well, “interesting” is putting a positive spin on things.

Tony spent a week at the vet’s: he was listless and losing weight for no apparent reason. After numerous tests (mostly to rule out the really scary stuff like cancer), it finally turned out to be a rare form of Addison’s Disease. And it’s treatable. Yay! He still needs ‘round the clock care by mummy (I have to watch his temperature, make sure he eats, make sure that what comes out looks healthy, give him his meds, keep him calm, etc.), but he’s home and looking a lot better.

Here’s a pic from last week at the vet’s:

Yesterday he barked at the neighbours! Fabulous improvement. I can only hope that he gets back to being my mischievous boy who always asks “why not?”.

I couldn’t write at all, of course. So I read. A lot. (I have reviews for Goodreads ready until end of September…)

One of the best non-fiction books I read was Jane Friedman’s “The Business of Being a Writer”. I only gave it four stars, but the reasons are explained within the review (see link).

The reason I really like this book is because I learned something new about my own published works:

“Short story collections are distinctly literary work.” And literary work doesn’t sell as well as commercial work.

Wow. And here I thought I was just a dark fantasy author. But it does explain the odd sales, amazing ranks on the different Amazon stores during launch week and glowing reviews

The book also gave me hope for the future:

“Committed writers succeed: recognise that most careers are launched, not with a single fabulous manuscript, but through a series of small successes that builds the writer’s network and visibility, step by step.”

Though the month hadn’t gone as planned – neither did last month – I feel positive that things can only improve from here on out.

On a side note: Tony is actually currently as grumpy as a faery dog character I’d based on him. Seems I know my boy a lot better than I thought.

Have you had any surprising revelations about your writing?

Ronel Janse van Vuuren is the author of New Adult, Young Adult and children’s fiction filled with mythology and folklore. Her dark fantasy stories can be read for free on Wattpad and on her blog Ronel the Mythmaker. She won Fiction Writer of the Year 2016 for her Afrikaans stories on INK: Skryf in Afrikaans. Her published works can be viewed on Goodreads.

Ronel can be found tweeting about writing and other things that interest her, arguing with her characters, researching folklore for her newest story or playing with her Rottweilers when she’s not actually writing.

All of her books are available for purchase on Amazon and other online retailers.

Connect with Ronel:

Amazon : Twitter : Pinterest : Google+ : Goodreads : Ronel the Mythmaker : Instagram : Newsletter

 

Published by Wranglers

This is a group blog under the name Wranglers

9 thoughts on “A Positive Spin #writerslife #amreading

  1. So glad your pup is on the mend! Enjoyed your post – a positive note on writing and good advice to remember to just be who you are! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Hi, Ronel. I do my share of short stories and post them on my FB author’s page. People tell me to publish them, but so far I am holding back. I do them to polish my writing. Typically, I take a painting and write a story about what the painting shows. Glad your dog is doing better and you will be able to keep him healthy with TLC. I had a cat named Tessir who had diabetes. I gave him insulin shots for several years, but the boy’s kidneys eventually gave up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First, I’m glad Tony’s condition has improved and can be treated. Barking at the neighbors sounds like a good sign. When our kids are hurting, we hurt with them.

    Thanks for the review of Friedman’s book. I read a lot of short stories–suspense, Ray Bradbury-type sci-fi, thanks to a good bookmobile–when I was a teenager, but then for some reason turned my focus to novels. Now that I’m writing stories, I wish other people were more interested in buying anthologies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad Tony is doing better. It is always scary when a member of family is sick and can’t tell you whats wrong.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.