The Writer and Social Media

Alethea Williamsby Alethea Williams

The release of an author’s new book means it’s promotion time. Since most new authors can’t afford much paid advertising, we are always looking for free ways to bring our work to the public’s attention. In these days of proliferating social media, there are some outlets that are crucial. Before the book is released a writer should have a Twitter account and start following and gathering followers. I started by using the search box and looking for writers, tweeting general writing items, and slowly gained a following.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

A writer should have a Facebook account, another place to gather friends and join groups where one can promote. In addition to a writer’s personal account, an author page and/or book page is mandatory. I’ve found Facebook useful for connecting with other writers, keeping up with what others are publishing and how they are promoting, and even as a place to learn how to use Web-based tools that I wouldn’t have discovered on my own.

WordPress Logo

A writer these days must have a blog. A writer must have a Web presence, a place to expound and expand, a place to showplace publications and link to one’s Facebook page as well as to places to buy the book.

G is for Good Reads

Amazon, Shelfari, and Amazon’s newest acquisition, Goodreads, are all places the writer can build an author page, list published works, describe characters and settings, and link to Twitter, as well as one’s blog and one’s Facebook page.

English: Google+ wordmark

There’s Google+, which kind of resembles Facebook as a place to connect and see what other writers are doing. I’ve been unable to fine tune the settings on Google+, though, and a very few writers have hijacked my notifications to tell me every single thing they’ve seen, read, or thought about during the day, all day, every day. Google+ overwhelms me with useless information although I do like the new design of showing three columns at a time and the fact that a writer can now post a separate page for each work.

English: Red Pinterest logo
English: Red Pinterest logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s Pinterest, to show in pictures what one is interested in, to pin pictures from one’s blog or the Web, or to tell a story in pictures which is mainly how I use it.

Image representing LibraryThing as depicted in...
Image via CrunchBase

The newest writer/book sites that I’ve joined are LibraryThing and AUTHORSdB. Since I’m already friends with hundreds of people on Goodreads and haven’t found a way to import my books to LibraryThing, that new site holds scant information. I haven’t had much time to explore AUTHORSdB beyond uploading my book’s cover and some personal information.

Yahoo! Groups used to be big, but I think more and more writers are migrating to Facebook to disseminate their news.

LinkedIn, again, connects a writer with a lot of people. But I don’t know that a listing there sells any books.

It is getting harder and harder, with all the writers, the books, and the book-related Web activity,  to attract the attention of readers. The ways that I have been trying lately, outside of promoted posts on Facebook which I think is way too expensive for the scanty returns, are guest posting on the blogs of other writers, and blog hops.

Guesting on another writer’s blog is usually a book spotlight consisting of blurb, excerpt, cover and links, or else an author interview or character interview. The hope here is that a writer gets wider exposure by being introduced to another writer’s audience.

I have just begun participating in blog hops, where writers of the same genre get together in big groups of 50-100 to host giveaways and link to each other’s blogs. It is getting extremely difficult to build up an audience and attract comments to one’s own blog, even to give something away. Blog hops offer the chance to contribute to a big grand prize, so I’m hoping for a better response but I’m not holding my breath!

As readers become more jaded and more surfeited with free books and swag giveaways, there will inevitably be more sites that authors are expected to join to advertise and promote. The only question then is when and what to let go of in the time crunch: sacrifice more writing time or just ignore some of the social media sites.

**This will be my last post for Writing Wranglers and Warriors. In addition to Willow Vale, I have a new contemporary romance out plus another newly accepted, and have signed a contract for a second historical. It’s been fun contributing to this blog, but writing under two names means I have two blogs of my own. Thanks for reading! It’s been fun.**

The author of historical novel Willow Vale, available at AmazonBarnes & Noble, and Jargon Media, Alethea Williams blogs on ActuallyAlethea about writing, writers, and Wyoming history.  Follow on Twitter @actuallyalethea, or like Alethea Williams, author on Facebook.  Friend her on FacebookGoodreads, LibraryThing and Google+.  Connect with her on LinkedIn and AUTHORSdB. Comments and honest feedback always welcome!

Published by Wranglers

This is a group blog under the name Wranglers

17 thoughts on “The Writer and Social Media

  1. This was a great final post. You will be missed, but I am so happy that you have so many wonderful possibilities on the horizon.

    Like

  2. Great tips and ideas Alethea. I’ll miss you on the blog. If you remember, you’re the reason I’m here! I wish you all the best with your books and blogs. I well know how much time it takes to manage all the social media. For now I’ll continue using blog posts as they have worked well for me for books sales, as well as Facebook Ads. However, I’ll keep looking at other venues and ideas for promotion. Stop in and say hi once in awhile!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the kind comments and to WyndyDee for the re-post! Linda and Doris, I think I know more writers on Facebook than I do in my state writing group, and am glad to have met you all here.

    Like

  4. Sorry to see you sign off on Writing Wranglers. Good luck in your upcoming endeavors. And sell lots of books.

    Like

  5. Your blog is rich in tips and I truly appreciate it. Thanks for the time and information it took to write it. May you have many blessings as you move on.

    Like

  6. Once again, a timely post for me to read since I returned from a writer’s conference and attended a three-day session on web and social media for authors. What was spoken in the workshops paralleled your post, but LibraryThing was never mentioned. I, too, have wondered how an author can keep up with all the technology and outlets as well as have time to write (and to work another job, take care of kids/pets/hubby/house, etc) — I’ve heard from more than one presenter “pick one, two or three, focus on them, and do them well!” I think that’s good advice, and your tips offer great places to start/upkeep. We will miss you here at Writing Wranglers….!

    Like

  7. Now you see Alethea – now you don’t.
    You express it well, not easy to know where to take one’s ship. So many pleasant blogs, like this one, another island in the vast webby sea. Writing wranglers and warrior’s is a great term.

    Like

  8. Alethea, as always, this is a great blog. I will miss you so much, not just the blog, but all the sharing you did and the little extras you exposed us to on our private WW&W Facebook page. I also enjoyed seeing you around all the “Social Media Sites”. I hope anytime you are just surfing the internet, you will stop back in to visit with you. I still hope to meet you in person someday, and, oh yes, thanks for the tips about Social Media. There were a couple of places on there I did not know about. I am on G+ and trying to figure it out, so keep an eye out for me there. You will be missed. It’s not too late to change your mind. Cher’ley

    Like

  9. Best wishes to you. I’ll need to catch up with you on those other sites, Alethea. I’ve had to let some of my social media groups lie dormant since April as I’ve needed to focus on that WIP writing of mine (family commitments always coming first and taking up a lot of my time now) You’re right about all of those things in your post being interesting ways to get yourself known, but exactly how much returns in book sales is debatable. It’s getting the balance right and that can be very different for individual writers.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.